Scientific Steering Group


The purpose of the Scientific Steering Group is to define the major scientific questions and goals of the Network, coordinate the sharing of scientific and logistical infrastructure, and decide upon the adoption of common scientific protocols.

Jennifer Harden – SSG Chair
Soil Scientist emeritus
US Geological Survey
Gustaf Hugelius – SSG Co-Chair
Associate Professor
Department of Physical Geography
Stockholm University
Program Head and Senior Researcher
ISRIC-World Soil Information (WDC-Soils)
Research Scientist
Joint Global Change Research Institute
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Senior Researcher
Soil Biogeochemistry and Carbon Management
National Autonomous University of Mexico
Terrestrial Ecologist
Biosciences Division
Argonne National Laboratory
Research Soil Scientist
National Health and Environmental Effects Research Laboratory
US Environmental Protection Agency
Professor and Chair
Soil Science
Technical University of Munich
Research Soil Scientist
Northern Research Station
USDA Forest Service
Assistant Professor
School of the Environment
Washington State University
Research Scientist
Water Resources Division
US Geological Survey
Associate Professor
Soil Fertility Management and Soil
Cornell University
Assistant Professor
Department of Geography
Texas A&M University
Team Leader
Land Resource Management and Soil Action
European Union- Joint Research Center
Associate Research Scientist
University of Michigan
Research Scientist
Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory
Colorado State University
National Program Leader
USDA Forest Service
Soils and Forest Ecology
Duke University
Professor and ChairPlant and Soil Science
University of Aberdeen
Science Coordinator, Climate Change
Science and Programs Branch
Canadian Forest Service
Chris Swanston – SSG Past Chair
Research Ecologist
Northern Research Station
USDA Forest Service
Program Lead
Terrestrial Ecosystems Research
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory